Government At a Glance

Bahamas Government At a Glance

Country name
Commonwealth of The Bahamas (long form)
Government type
Constitutional parliamentary democracy
Administrative divisions
21 districts as follows: Acklins and Crooked Islands, Bimini, Cat Island, Exuma, Freeport, Fresh Creek, Governor’s Harbour, Green Turtle Cay, Harbour Island, High Rock, Inagua, Kemps Bay, Long Island, Marsh Harbour, Mayaguana, New Providence, Nicholls town and Berry Islands, Ragged Island, Rock Sound, Sandy Point, San Salvador and Rum Cay
10 July 1973 (from the United Kingdom)
Legal system
Based on English common law
18 years of age to vote; Universal
Executive branch
Head of government: Hubert INGRAHAM (Prime Minister) and Theodore “Brent” SYMONETTE (since 4 May 2007)
Nominal chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952)
Cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the governor general on the prime minister’s recommendation (see below)
Legislative branch
Bicameral Parliament consists of:
(1) the Senate (16-member body appointed by the governor general upon the advice of the prime minister and the opposition leader for five-year terms)
(2) the House of Assembly (40 seats; members elected by direct popular vote to serve five-year terms)
Elections Last held 2 May 2007 (next to be called by May 2012)
Election results Percent of vote by party: FNM 49.86%, PLP 47.02%
Seats by party: FNM 23, PLP 18
Judicial branch Supreme Court; Court of Appeal; Magistrates Courts
Political parties Free National Movement or FNM (majority); Progressive Liberal Party or PLP (minority)
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members
Prime Minister Hubert INGRAHAM
Deputy Prime Minister Theodore “Brent” SYMONETTE
Governor General Arthur Dion HANNA
Minister of Agriculture & Marine Resources Larry CARTWRIGHT
Minister of Education, Youth, Sports, & Culture Carl BETHEL
Minister of Finance Hubert INGRAHAM
Minister of Foreign Affairs Theodore “Brent” SYMONETTE
Minister of Health & Social Development Hubert MINNIS
Minister of Housing & National Insurance Kenneth RUSSELL
Minister of Lands & Local Govt. Sidney COLLIE
Minister of Legal Affairs Claire HEPBURN
Minister of Maritime Affairs & Labor Dion FOULKES
Minister of National Security & Immigration Orville “Tommy” TURNQUEST
Minister of Tourism & Aviation Neko GRANT
Minister of Works & Transport Earl DEVEAUX
Attorney General Claire HEPBURN